Synthetic Turf Specialist

TigerTurf Winter League Bowls Tournament 2015

By admin on January 8, 2017

The TigerTurf Winter League is a quick-moving, shorter version of the usual bowls game. Enjoyed by the light of heart and fast of foot, it is also a great spectator sport – you can expect noisy support from the sidelines. Not to say raucous!

Run by Bowls NZ, and played in teams of three, this is a pairs event, with the third player of each of the two teams responsible for managing the shot clock and monitoring the play. As well, the third player must be ready to dash onto the green when needed. This substitute must play at least 9 bowls during the match. With only 30 seconds between shots, and substitutions allowed at any time, the players need their wits about them, and have to get to the ball quickly. If the shot clock wins, and the “bowl” is not played, the bowl is forfeited. Team changeover has to be executed smartly too, with only 40 seconds before the next shot has to be played or forfeited.

The TigerTurf Winter League 2015 is sponsored by TigerTurf, Autex, Greengauge, and the participating clubs.

The Southern regional finals were hard fought at Waverly Bowling Club by extremely competitive teams, with Kew bowlers Barry Stewart and Alan Burns, and Hokonui’s Darren Broome emerging as the successful team. They will represent the southern zone at the National finals as they compete against the seven other regional qualifiers to become the champions of the inaugural Bowls New Zealand TigerTurf Winter League.

Seven of the eight teams that will compete for the championship have now been decided after lively competition at bowling clubs throughout New Zealand:

The Waverley Bowling Club hosted the southern regional final, as indicated above, with Barry Stewart and Alan Burns of the Kew Bowling Club with Darren Broome from the Hokonui Bowling Club.


At One Tree Point Bowling Club, the winning team was the Kaitaia Combined Bowling Club team – Mike Reddy, Cedric Campbell, and Teri Stout.

At the Kohimarama Bowling Club, Keith Ansell, Adam Wishnoski and Richard Watson of the New Lynn Bowling Club prevailed over enthusiastic competition.

The Putaruru Bowling Club regional finals were won by Merv Gibbons and Stefan McCartain of Gate Pa Bowling Club and Neil Smythe of Rapaura Bowling Club.

The members of the winning team at the Kia Toa Bowling Club regional finals were Dennis Osborne, Allan Madgwick and Craig Johns.

At the Lyall Bay Bowling Club, the Takaro Bowling Club team (Palmerston North) won the right to represent their region at the finals – Brent Mason, David Adams and Mike Bowey.


At the St Martins Bowling Club regional final, the top team came from Christchurch – Dianne Templeton, Alvin Gardner and Ashley Paul.

The Glendowie Bowling Club will field its own team at the national final.

The regional finals have been held during July and August, with the national final being held on Sunday, 30th August at Glendowie Bowling Club, Auckland, for the grand prize of $1500, with six bottles of Grants Whisky for the runner-up team.

The shot clock and power plays ramp up the tension and excitement into a high-pressure game, similar in tempo to Twenty20 cricket and 7-a-side rugby. The game must be completed within one hour, or forfeited. Sudden calls for power play increase the pace still more throughout the game, with one power play being called by each player for each set, to double points scored by that team. No wonder the game has a keen following.

How can we help?

TigerTurf manufactures and installs high quality products for a range of sports, leisure and landscape applications.

We are committed to providing expert knowledge and advice on synthetic turf products and systems, along with exceptional customer service before, during and after your purchase.